The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens Book Review

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens isn’t a book that you would look at and say “Cool!” The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens isn’t a book that your friend would normally recommend to you. In fact, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens is a book that you would look at and say “Ewwwwww!” ,but it’s not.

This life saver for teens, written by Sean Covey, is a gold mine filled with sparkles of knowledge. You’ll find many useful habits like ‘Put First Things First’ and ‘Sharpen The Saw’. Unlike The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People written by Sean’s dad, this book speaks directly to teens. With inspiring quotes and cute cartoons, you’ll find yourself eagerly turning pages to learn more.

‘Sharpen The Saw’ is my favorite habit. Once, someone asked Abraham Lincoln what he would do if he had eight hours to cut down a tree. He replied, “I’d spend the first four hours sharpening my saw.” I’ve seen a few of my friends in terrible mood swings due to high levels of stress. The habit ‘Sharpen The Saw’ teaches you how to renew yourself so the balance between school and family isn’t such a storm.

I’ve given you a brief taste of this book, but I haven’t told you everything yet. This book is one of my top favorites, and totally deserves a 5 star rating! So what are you waiting for? Given that the last quote of the book is “Best get off your butt and leave footprints in the sand, you don’t want to leave a butt print.”

4 responses to “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens Book Review

  1. My SEEK (or Gifted) teacher had us read this, and even though we’re not done yet, I think I like habit 5 the most. Nice review!

  2. Very good book review. Sharpen the Saw is my favorite too. Keep up the good work!

  3. Great review, Amanda! I love the quote. My mom somehow happened to “find” a miniature copy in my stocking…! Apparently Santa likes to encourage teen success.

  4. What a great book review this is. I have the adult version from many years ago. Reading your review now makes me want read my book again and read the teen version of it. Like father, like son. Both authors are the best!

Leave a Reply

