SnowCreek: TUBING!

Today I went tubing at SnowCreek! Honestly I was surprised that my mom would actually let me. Normally, I would assume she’d say, “Oh, it’s too dangerous!” but no, she actually encouraged it. (Not danger, but tubing. Not Danger.)

SnowCreek is a ski lodge that sits about two hours from my house. Filled with fake snow, (or rather, chipped ice), SnowCreek has an immense collection of hills. Sadly, the tubing hill was the VERY. LAST. ONE. It really wasn’t that long of a walk, though. It was just my heavy ski bib that dragged my weight down.

I arrived on the edge of where colorful tubes sat piled messily. Grabbing the strap end of this chunky green tube, I dragged it up the side of the hill to where a conveyor belt was, and stood on it, waiting, until I reached the top. I stepped on the chips of ice/fake snow (I just want to emphasize the FAKE snow) and started climbing to the short lines of the tubers.

There were 5 lanes that you could tube down: the first two were for 4 tubes at a time maximum, the middle one (my favorite) was for single tubers, and the last two were for 5 tubes or more. Each lane’s course was pretty much the same- a steep 110 degree drop and a small dip to slow the tuber down. All of the lanes were side by side, and between each was a foot wall of chipped ice barrier. I chose the middle one be cause it looked different than all the others. The middle was was completely iced over with a translucent, gray, glossy, look while the rest were iced over to about half of the course.

The wait in the line was succinct. I, really, was not nervous about this at all, because I though it would be a slow, draggy thing, only thrilling enough to excite an old person. When the TubingGuard, (like a LifeGuard except with tubing), pushed me down, he also spun me. I really underestimated the fun of tubing!

I slid slowly down the first feet of the slippery slope, and gradually began to build up speed. Ice chippings sprayed all around my tube and violently peppered my face. Even though I was screaming and squealing the whole way, the noise of friction between the tube and the ice masked it up. Because my mouth was dry, I licked my lips very generously. BIG MISTAKE. The saliva on my mouth froze quickly on my second time down, and it hurt!

After a few more times, I finally stopped and walked down to a burning fire with multitudes of skiers, snowboarders, and tubers were huddled. Thinking the fire would thaw my hands and face, I crouched closer, but the black, withering smoke stung my eyes and made me cough. I went back to the slopes and slid down a few more times, each turn more exhilarating than the last!

I definitely want to go tubing again, but with more friends. I hope everyone gets a chance to do this fun activity.

5 responses to “SnowCreek: TUBING!

  1. Great description on tubing details! You made me enjoy the moments again!

  2. Awesome description of the event! I love the details! Next time I go tubing, I’ll definitely cover up my face and mouth. 🙂

  3. Sounds fun! I went skiing there with my dad last year. I’ll have to try tubing!!

  4. Sounds fun! I went skiing last year with my dad. I’ll have to try tubing!!

  5. It’s been a while since I’ve been on here, but uh yeah ……… Anyways, I’ve gone camping there before!! It was so fun!!!!

Leave a Reply

