Reflection part six

I wrote this a while ago in my journal so it may not be the best piece of writing ever, and it may not be continued. It just happens to be a high school romance so, brace your selves!

Prologue

She took a quick glance into the school bathroom mirror. What? She looked again, wide-eyed. The face in the metal frame was not Robyn. Robyn had caramel, shaggy hair parted to the side and clipped up with a white pin. Her eyes were luminous green on her peachy skin and blush colored lips.

The face in the mirror had deep, dark, walnut colored hair that pulled back by a leather headband, and tied into a high ponytail that was maneuvered into a braid.  The skin on this bust was ever so pale, and the mouth was beige. But most queer of all, was that they- Robyn and the mysterious face- both had the same eyes; the color, the little gray streak in the left side of the pupil on the right eye, the same long lashes that shielded their eyes.

Robyn tore her gaze away, sucked in her breath, and dared a glance back at the cursed, school bathroom mirror. She glanced away, but then snapped her head back.  But that’s- what- WHAT?! What is freaking going on! She saw the face of her dead brother, Kirk, staring back at her with brown, mournful eyes. He mouthed “twenty three”.

Chapter One: Black

Rebecca

I stumbled back to her third hour math not caring about if people bumped into me or accidentally shoved me away. I saw Kirk. No one had seen Kirk for three years. Three FREAKING YEARS and now he turns up in a mirror in a school bathroom?!

I walked into Mrs. Miller’s math hour, and roamed drowsily to my desk and shoved all my binders  under my chair. Mrs. Miller rambled on about how sophomores like us started to learn about the Pythagorean algorithm, while I was thinking. Twenty-three? That was Kirk’s favorite number.

“All right, class. If x squared-2=(x+2)(x-2), then what is X? You have three minutes to calculate, class. Start!”

I already knew the answer: 23. I was in gifted so she had a slight advantage. So I just sat there, like stone. Veronica, my sister, who sat next to me, whispered, “It’s twenty-three right?”

I nodded.

She sighed. “I know, I know. You’re thinking of Kirk. But don’t let it stop you from living a good life. You know that, actually, something really creepy happened today. I looked in the mirror and saw-”

I snapped out of my thought and completed her sentence. “-A face totally different from your own?”

Veronica’s jaw dangled open. “Yeah! And then I looked back and saw-”

“-Kirk?” I whispered?

“Yes.”

“CLASS! Are you done? Because from what I see, only Robyn, Veronica, Nick, Lila, and Mister Jerald Pfeffer completed. If you don’t finish, it’s-”

“RR-RRI-RING!RING RING!” The class bell rang and all the students rushed to get out before Mrs. Miller said Homework.

Chapter 2: Animation

Veronica

Since we’re twins, Robyn and I have the same classes together. We both walked to Pod 4.5, Row 23 and went to our lockers. We have this kind of telepathic signature, where if we concentrate hard enough, we can psychotically communicate. But only for ten minutes because we can suffer the temporary loss of one of our senses if we do it too long.

Do you think that the mirror thing was a coincidence? 

No.

Then it’s some mysterious force, pulling at our minds?

No. Maybe we both telepathically were speaking for too long, so we

That can’t be! The senses are completely blocked out, not messed up.

We pulled out our computer Technology folders and walked down Corridor 19890 to Computer Tech.

Watcha guys talking about?

Oh. Did I forget to tell you? The only other person who can interfere with our telepathic conversions is Nick. What a perv. Personally, I think he’s cute, but Robyn finds him so…. annoying. ?????

Get out of  our minds! Robyn shot a look at him.

I was never in your minds, or was I? You two thinking About, Me? Nick smirked.

I silently giggled.

Shut the fudge up, or get creamed in dodgeball in Gym!

The three of us were still communicating as Mrs. Morris talked about our next animation project. We three? Yes? Were a group. Hooray. As our assignment, we had to build a story on top of our previous animation, and make a ten minute movie out of it. Our previous animation was 3 minutes long, and was about an enchanted promise land. Even creepier, the characters in the movie was what all three of us envisioned in the mirrors of the school bathrooms.

REWIND

Get out of our minds! Robyn shot a look at him

I was never in your minds, or was I? You two thinking About, Me? Nick smirked. I actually saw something in the school bathroom mirror today. It was really creepy; I saw this sexified version of my face. and then I saw…. um…

Kirk? And Twenty-three? we both said.

I silently giggled

PAUSE

FAST FORWARD

We tried to use the new iMoviemaker app, but it was jacked up. “How are we supposed to get As now?” Robyn wailed, and she flopped onto the spinny chair like an invertabre.  “I can help,” Nick smirked, and wiggled his eyebrows, leaning in closer to Robyn. She pushed him away. “That’s okay….. I’m good… Hey, what’s this?”

A new document popped up. It was named “23”.

We exchanged glances of suspicion, as Robyn tentatively clicked the open button. Document 23 turned out to be a complete fifteen minute animation story, built on the previous one.

“Okay, that’s just creepy,” I said.

“Lets watch it!” Nick exclaimed. and reached over Robyn’s shoulder to take over the mouse.

It started as our little enchanted world, and then this boy comes. Wait, that’s Kirk….! The ‘us’ get into a violent fight with him and it turns out to be an evil…. thing that dies and morphs into this necklace with a crystalline teardrop pendant with engraved symbols.

Chapter 3: Lunch

Lila

Finally! Lunch. I ran to meet Robyn and Veronica in Corridor 19890 to walk to the commons for lunch. We talked about school and whatnot. But I felt that there was something they weren’t telling me.

We sat down at our table; table 3B. Here is the list of my spontaneous table mates: Nick, Micheal, Robyn, Veronica, me, Moni, YoKarr, and Finn. Fantastic group, they are. We piled our tray with pizza, potatoes, salad and the non-toxic mush they serve down in the Jim-Bob.

With our plates filled, we ate amid awkward silence. I believe that I was the only one noticing the angst and worry and retch of looks that Nick, Veronica, and Robyn were exchanging. I concentrated hard, so hard that a throbbing vein popped out in my temples, struggling to break the telepathic barrier that kept me from hearing the little conversation. Everyone else however, was staring at me. That was when I had realized how awkward it was to have a spoonful of mashed potatoes and brown rice dripping with fudge halfway to my wide mouth with my eyes squeezed tight.

Kirk——-imposs——-car acci——three y—-

That’s when I realized I knew who Kirk was. I became frantic and clenched my fingers so that they folded and figurined into a twisted design of a pentagon, and it turned white. My face overcame with a wave of white, and I had experienced just then a painful feeling.

It was time to leave. I dropped my spoon, splattering a mashed potato covered nugget onto my tray. Weaving through the commons and jabbering sophmores, I quickly reached a bathroom where there were no cracks in the stalls. I touched my collarbone, watched myself become transparent as I stepped north 10 inches.

Chapter 3: Pearl

Robyn

 

2 responses to “Reflection part six

  1. When are you going to write more? It’s amazing!!

  2. I got frustrated when I tried to read your story,because if the title is * *part four,I would expect to see the story starts from where you left from part three,not the whole thing with part four. Or you can post the whole story once with each chapter clearly marked. I noticed that you have two chapter 3s. Please proofread before you post. Thanks for writing. If you want more feedbacks,it is better to make it easier for readers to read.

Leave a Reply

