The Things to Live for Chapter 2

 

By the way, there will be a new chapter everyday. Or at least I’ll try. Kaitlin wrote 15 so far. Now to the story! =]

I’m just going to pretend like last night did not happen. My parents did not yell at each other, I got a shirt to wear, and I didn’t freeze to death when I slept.

 Yeah.

I get up like it’s a regular school day. I pick out a shirt out of the hamper and throw it on. I pile all my sort-of-finished homework into my backpack and gobble down a donut. And then I walk to school.

It’s a cold day and I immediately regret my decision of not wearing a jacket. I have to keep in shape everyday somehow so I just start jogging to keep myself warm. Cars pass me as I run. Once a convertible passed and I saw the girls inside giggle and point at me.

I guess you can say I’m popular. Girls flirt with me a bunch. It’s probably a combination of my name, my abs, and my athletic abilities. I also have amazing grades even if I don’t try. I’m basically the girls’ super cute Ken Barbie doll. I don’t enjoy it at the least. Of course, being a man I don’t say it to their faces.

When I reach school, my cheeks are hot in the cold and I’m sweating a river.

“Rock!” I hear someone yell. I turn around.

“Oh, hey Aaron.” I say.

“Did you seriously run to school?” he asks when he reaches me.

“Yeah.”

“You’re crazy!”

It wasn’t too hard for me, but I know for him it would have probably taken probably like twenty-five minutes. For me it took about five. Aaron’s a little on the pudgy side and is probably considered a nerd in my school. He says the only reason he doesn’t transfer schools is because of me. And the school lunch. He also says it doesn’t really make a difference anyway if he does transfer schools.

“So did you buy Black Ops yet?”

“Nooo,” I groan. “My parents had a fight last night ‘cause of money. I don’t know if we can buy it…”

“Oh, I just got this text and it cost WAY less. Come on! My friend, you must buy it.”

I nod. “I’ll try…”

“Freshman Rock Poency please come to the office please. Freshman Rock Poency to the office now.”

Aaron raises his eyebrows at me. I raise mine back at him.

“Well,” I say. “I gotta run.”

When I reach the office the principal swivels his chair and looks at me. It kind of looks like one of those movie scenes where the bad guy is behind the black spinning chair. Dr. Vitamin folds her arms over her chest.

“Hello Mr. Poency.”

“Hi, Dr. Vitamin.” I love her last name. What’s her first name? Multi?

“I hear you are in the KC Blazers swim team?” I nod.

“Well, we are running low on people who would like to join our high school swim team,” she says getting right to the point.

“And you’re saying that you want me to join?” I ask her. Is this seriously why she called me to the office?

“Yes. But that is not why I called you here. We are also holding an eating contest this year for all the five schools in the Blue Valley District. It is an honor. Each school has two representatives for a contestant. I know that swimmers eat a lot so I would like you to be one of them.”

Are you kidding me? She called me down to ask me of this? One odd of a principal here.

“Umm… Sure!” I quickly say.

“Okay, here is a paper that has all the information on it.” She hands me a purple paper.

“Have fun, Mr. Poency. And good luck.”

I join Aaron later as we sit down in Algebra.

“So what happened down in the office?” he whispers when the bell rings.

“They whipped me,” I say with my usual sarcasm.

“Seriously.”

“Multi-Vitamin asked me to join the high school swim team and to be an eating contest.”

“Seriously Rock.”

“I’m being serious.”

“QUIET CLASS,” Mr. Notrub screeches. “So you know we are holding an eating contest. These are the following representatives taking place in this contest.”

Someone whoops. The whole class leans in, most of them hoping they’re going to be in it. I would gladly switch with them.

“A girl and a guy: two contests. Our girl representative for Blue Valley High is Amelia Natur and our boy representative is Rock Poency.” Several heads turn to look at me.

“Yeah, yeah, it takes place on November 12 here after school. Come watch if you can.” He looks at me. “Yay… let’s give a round of applause for Mr. Rock. You better eat a lot…”

This week… is gonna be weird. I just know it.

 

 

4 responses to “The Things to Live for Chapter 2

  1. It would be fun to watch an eating contest. Participating in one though…that’s a whole different story.

  2. Wow…an EATING CONTEST?! What a wack-job principal…

Leave a Reply

