Hunting for the Mona Lisa (part 1)

Don’t Play With Fire

It was a bright sunny day. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, and you could feel the warm summer breeze rushing by your ears. I’m Daniel Remirza. I’m thirteen years old and I am in sixth grade atDaisyElementary School. I’m pretty good at sports and I like playing with my friends but I have probably the worst grades in school. I bomb my math tests, flunk language arts, I am not good at geography, and I get grades so bad on my science tests that the teachers at my school created the grade “G.” Even the teachers act like I’m the worst person that they’ve ever met. I can’t believe that I’ve been asked to be the leader of this great case. The Mona Lisa . . . was STOLEN!

“Daniel can’t be the leader,” started my classmate Sarah. “He’s bad at everything.”

A detective just came into the classroom to talk to us about the Mona Lisa case. He had a light-brown hat and a light-brown jacket. In his pocket was a small box of matches and a magnifying glass. He had a mustache and his hair was dark brown. He had brown eyes and light-brown eyebrows. You could tell he really liked brown just by looking at him.

“I’m sorry Sarah he just looks like a good detective for this case,” said the detective. “You never know Sarah, sometimes the worst people become really great heroes.”

“Yeah, yeah, yeah,” whispered Sarah.

You could tell she was really disappointed. I stood up and said, “I’ll do it. I just need one or two people to help. Who would like to come?”

Nobody raised their hands. I got real angry and balled my fists. I felt like slamming everyone with a good hard punch.

“Then-then I’ll do it by myself!” I shouted angrily.

I rushed out the door and sat down on a nearby bench. I wanted to cry. Even my one best friend Luke didn’t want to come. I getting tired fast and very soon, I fell asleep.

I felt a tug, then a kick, then a whack in the face. I woke up and found Luke in front of me. The school was burning and all you could see was flames. They were everywhere. No fire extinguishers were near us. We were trapped.

“Hey Dan, you got your water bottle?” asked Luke.

“Nope,” I replied.

“Then we’ll have to go to plan B.”

“What’s plan B?”

“Okay Dan, you see those flames?”

He pointed at the flames that just started a little while ago.

“Stand there and hold out your hand. I’ll do the rest.”

I ran over and held out both of my hands. Luke ran, stepped on my hands, and leaped across the flames. He got a fire extinguisher and demolished the flames. We ran through the school destroying every flame we came across. Then, there was a flame about ten times bigger than the rest. We didn’t know what to do. The fire extinguisher ran out of its chemical. Beads of sweat went down my face. We had to think of something fast. The flame was burning everything. The ceiling was ready to fall on us. Luke took out a soda can and tossed it into the fire. It got smaller but only a little.

“You got any carbon dioxide stuff?” asked Luke.

“No,” I said.

“Okay, then we’re dead.”

The fire turned gigantic. It was probably ten or eleven feet tall now. Now we were really trapped. There was no way out. Then, I saw something that could help.

“Luke, the water fountain!” I said.

He looked at me like I was crazy.

“How are we gonna reach that?” he asked.

“I dunno,” I replied.

I had to do something. I didn’t have water or anything that could destroy flames.

“Wait,” I said taking out a magnet.

I threw it at the water fountain. BANG! It stuck on and the fountain started shooting out water.

“Now we just need something to make it shoot at the fire,” said Luke.

Suddenly, the ceiling shook. It was cracking open. Small pieces fell down to the ground. This is the weird part. Magically, two fire extinguishers fell from the ceiling. I picked one up and started spraying the whole fire with the chemical inside it. Almost immediately, the fire was gone. Luke and I ran as fast as we could out the front door. We were outside now. Nobody was outside. It was like they simply just disappeared.

“Where’d they go?” I asked.

“They said they all were going toParis,France,” said Luke.

“But . . . why?”

“Don’t you know? The Mona Lisa is there or . . . was there. They wanted to take your spot as detective.”

“Im-impossible!”

“It’s true Dan. When I was out here, I overheard them about going toParis,France. They talked about the plan. The plan was to go to the airport and fly there when you weren’t there. They said it was a perfect chance for them to get revenge on you.”

“Revenge? What did I ever do to them?”

“I don’t know but I’m sure they do. I think we’d better hurry up and catch up to them.”

“Oka-wait, what do you mean we? I’m the only one doing this case.”

“Well, I forgot to tell you but I want to join you, can I?”

I thought for a second. He didn’t seem to be playing a prank on me.

“Well, you should’ve told me you wanted to join. You’re in!” I said.

“Now let’s get going,” said Lucas as we ran to our bikes.

We got on, put on our helmets, and rode all the way to the airport.

2 responses to “Hunting for the Mona Lisa (part 1)

  1. Great job! i like it! 🙂

  2. Good start! Keep writing and posting!

Leave a Reply

