The Halloween War (part 1)

The Skull Arrives

 It all started when I was playing with my friend, Lucas. We were having a sleepover and weird things started happening. I’m Zachary Anderson but my friends call me Zack. I’ll tell you what happened. Horrible, nasty things started happening today when we went on the quest. It started off nice. We were playing electronics. We were having a cool time. Everything was great. Lucas brought some snacks. He brought bags of Doritos, Cheetos, and several other snacks. We were having fun and doing . . . you know . . . normal stuff.

It was almost the best day of my life until it happened. The doorbell rang. It sounded weird because I usually just hear a DING, type of sound. It was like a bell’s toll combined with a screeching noise. It took me a while to realize it was the doorbell because of that. I sneaked towards the door taking many tiny steps. It rang again. It was more like a wolf howling this time. I opened the door slowly. In front of me was a skull. I let out a little screech as I tumbled back hitting my head on the wooden floor. It was white and hard. Its eyes were filled with flames. It glowed bright-blue as it floated up to my face and said, “You are in great dangerAnderson.”

“H-How do you know my last name?” I asked shivering with fear.

“I have known you forever.”

“Um . . . Zack where did he come from?” asked Lucas.

“I-I don’t know he just appeared at the door.”

“SILENCE! I must talk to him,” shouted the skull. “Zack, to get out of this danger, you will have to accept a quest. We will start tomorrow and invite two more people to come.”

“I accept the quest.”

“Then we will start tomorrow. . . immediately at sunrise.”

“Let’s finish partying, go to sleep, and start tomorrow.”

We went downstairs and continued to play. Soon, after ten o’clock, we went to sleep. The next morning, my mom was staring at me angrily.

“Hey mom. Why are you staring at me like that?” I asked.

“WHY DID YOU HAVE TO RIP DOORKNOBS OFF THE DOORS?!” she asked angrily.

“What do you mean? I didn’t.”

“Then what’s that about?”

She pointed to the door. Surely, the doorknob was gone.

“And watch this,” she said.

She took a camcorder and showed me a video. There I was, going to the doorknob, biting it off with my mouth. It was weird because when I opened my mouth, instead of regular teeth, I had the sharpest teeth ever. I swallowed it and went back to my sleeping bag.

“H-How is that possible? I don’t remember getting out of my sleeping bag,” I said.

“You did it to all of the doors!” she shouted. “All of them are gone.”

“B-But . . .”

“NO BUTS, RETURN THEM TOMORROW!”

She stormed out of my room and made some breakfast.

“They are coming,” said the skull.

“Who are?” I asked.

“The Castersons. The sons of the evil magicians. They controlled you with evil magic. You were probably sleeping during that time.”

“Oh.”

“You will have to start the quest now. You need two more people. Who will you choose?”

“Lucas, you pick one first.”

“Jonah. He’s smart and he’s athletic in many places,” Lucas said.

“I’ll pick Laura. She‘s good at quest type things,” I said.

“I will summon them here,” the skull said.

Instantly, Laura and Jonah popped out of nowhere and dropped to the floor.

“Why am I at your house Zack,” asked Jonah.

“Yeah, why are we here?” asked Laura.

“We’re going on a quest. Would you like to come?” I asked.

They looked at each other then turned towards me.

“Sure!” they both said.

“Looks like we’ve got four,” I said.

“We’re ready. Now we must go,” said the skull.

We walked out the door and began our ultimate quest.

3 responses to “The Halloween War (part 1)

  1. Nice story! It sounds great so far!

  2. Boooooo! Perfect story at the perfect timing!
    Thanks a million, Emerald. You are such a diligent writer and a creative one, too! I can’t wait to read more.

  3. Oooooo, I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

