The Poison Apple (Updated)

It was a normal day. I woke up, got dressed, ate breakfast and walked to school, but then everything change.  When I stepped in the classroom, I looked around. I saw animals everywhere- some were running, some were eating, others were playing. Where are my classmates? I thought.

Then suddenly a beaver said “Hey, Katie! It’s me Justin!”  I was so surprised I was sure I jumped 4 feet high.

 “Geez, it is still your classmates,” Said a monkey.

 “Who are you?” I said. “No wait I know. You are George. I have to say the monkey face matches you perfectly.” Then everyone started laughing. Will it was mostly growls and howls but who cares it is still the same thing. After the ‘laughter’ died down I said

            “I also know why Justin is a beaver.”

 “Why?” asked Justin and everyone else.

“Because you are Justin Beaver.”                 

Then everyone was laughing. Will it was mostly growls and howls but who cares it is still the same thing.

“Very funny,” Said Justin while rolling his eyes. While all the animals are ‘laughing’ I looked around the classroom again. Now I can name all the animals. The penguin was Samrina, the gray wolf was Erin, turtle was Marissa, the snake was Annabeth, flamingo was Gabriel, the cheetah was Quentin, then there was Ashley the poodle, Sally the squirrel, Richard the pig, and Perry the platypus.  There was also a chicken named José, a monkey named George, a kangaroo called Tiffany, and a goldfish named Cooper. Who was in my teacher’s coffee mug. And my teacher, Mrs. Zoroark, is a duck and the principal, Mr. Zory, is a lion.

Hey where is Abby?” I asked. Then suddenly I see a humming bird flying straight towards my face. I ducked down right before she hit my face.

“Sorry,” Abby said. “I’m not use to flying this fast, but in a way you deserved it. How can you forget me? ”

“I’m sorry, but you were too small. No offense. Will I found Abby but I still want to hear how you guys turned into animals!” I exclaimed.

“I will tell the story because I am the principal,” said Mr. Zory. “I got here early in the morning around 6:45 am. I went in to my office at the front of the school. I sat down in my pink spiny chair and started to spin around and around.” The class started laughing again.  “Hey! Be quiet! You all have detention after school today!” Mr. Zory commanded. “Now where was I … Oh I remember now, after spinning for a while I looked on my desk. I saw a basket of red apples. It had a note on the handle of the basket. It said “Congratulations! You have won the Principal of the Month Award! You have earned yourself 20 apples!” On the bottom of the note there was the letters G.M.W.”  “ After I read the note I brought the apples to Mrs. Zoroark’s room to share because her class was the closes to my office.” “I walked to the classroom and give everyone an apple. Every one took a bite of the apple and turned into animals. There is still one apple left because you came to school late.”

“Hey! Mr. Zory, I have a question. Don’t you ever wonder what G.M.W stands for?” asked Ashley.

“I would search it up on the computer if I could but I don’t have fingers now, I only have paws,” said the principal.

“I will search it then.” I said as I went to the computers. I went on the internet and search G.M.W. There were 1 billion results. 

Most results talked about robberies and animals appearing at weird places.  There was always a note that was signed with the letters G.M.W. Animals appearing in weird places? I thought. Hmmmm. I haven’t seen the Xterment family and the Brown family in a long time. Could they have…..? I suddenly stopped in mid thought.

“Oh, no!” I yelled. “I remember barks and meows in Mr. Xterment’s house. You all know that Mr. Xterment is allergic to furry animals.”

“There is another problem,” Samrina said quietly. “I live next to them and I saw the animal control go in to their house.” 

“But where is the Brown family?” I asked. Then everyone was silent. We were all thinking about the Brown family.

“The lasssssst time I ssssaw them wasss when they told me to take care of their pet dog until they come back from their trip to Europe. And that was like 5 weeksssss ago!” Annabeth the snake said.

 “We have to turn you guys back! And find them! ” I exclaimed. “But how?”   

“Maybe if we find out who G.M.W is we can find out how to switch back!” Erin howled.

“I know someone that could be G.M.W.!” Perry exclaimed. “My great-great-grandma! Her name is Gabriella Margaret Wright!” 

“How about other ideas.” Erin said. “Better ones.”

Then everyone started to shout out ideas! The room was filled with animal noises. It was so loud the other fifth grade teacher, Mr. Spake came in! 

“Why is it so loud in here?” He asked. Then he saw all the animals in the room and said to me

“Why did you bring all your pets to the class room?” Then he suddenly screamed.
 “Is that a flamingo? I hate those creatures! They freak me out!”

“First of all we are not Katie’s pets. And secondly why are you afraid of flamingos? Marissa said. After she finished talking Mr. Spake fainted.

“Call 911! Call 911!! Now! Hurry!” Mrs. Zoroark shouted. While Mr. Zory yelled “No! Do CPR! Somebody do CPR! I said do CPR!!” 

Then Justin started to sing “One Last Lonely Girl” by Justin Beiber. Then Mrs. Zoroark and Mr. Zory stopped shouting. After a few minutes everyone was plugging their ears and yelling for him to stop. Finally after he stopped singing, I looked at the doorway.

“Where is Mr. Spake?!” I shouted. Then everyone looked at the doorway. All we saw was muddy footprints.

“Someone follow the footprints!” Sally squeaked. After that Quentin, Erin, and Abby started to track down where the foot prints lead. Finally after 15 minutes they found out. The footprints lead to an old house. The house needed some painting job and the windows were all shattered. There was also a noise, it was someone talking.

It said in a deep voice “If you came here looking for a cure to the apples you have came to the correct place.” After it stopped talking the door opened, at the door way it stood a man with a broom in one hand and a knife in the other.

He said “You are just in time for lunch!”

After he said that Quentin, Erin, and Abby started to run back to the school but when they were running Abby was caught.

“Help!” Abby chirped as she was trying to escape from the man. “Help me!”

Then Quentin and Erin turned around to save Abby. After clawing, biting, and kicking the man, Abby was finally free.

“I’ll get you!!!” The man shouted at them.

After Erin, Quentin, and Abby got back to the classroom, and told everyone what had happened. We started to brainstorm more ideas.

“Maybe there is like another fruit like a magical banana or pear that will change us back.”

 “Or there is some potion in that man’s house that will turn us back”

After a couple more ideas we decided to break in to his house at night. We were planning for another hour and soon it was time to go to G. M. W.’s house.  As soon as we got there we heard a loud growl. It was from Richard’s stomach.

“Sorry,” said Richard. “We didn’t have dinner today.”

“Can’t you eat some grass and flower like a real pig does,” Complained Mrs. Zoroark.

“That sounds good!”

After he finished eating, we started to go, but we heard something else. It was Ashley complaining about getting her paws muddy.

“Ewwww! My paws! Their all covered in mud! I refuse to go any farther!”

Finally after 10 minutes we got Ashley to come with us. Then we silently entered to house and went in to a room filled with different jars of potion.

“Hmmm. I wonder what this does.” Jose said as he picked up a jar of purple liquid. Then he poured a drop in the coffee mug where Cooper the goldfish was.  Suddenly we heard a ‘poof!’ and we saw that Cooper the goldfish was now Cooper the fuss ball.

“Opps!”  Jose said. “Maybe that was the wrong one. How about this one?” Jose was holding a jar with green liquid. He poured it on Tiffany. We heard another ‘poof!’ and saw that Tiffany the kangaroo turned in to Tiffany the super tiny kangaroo. She was about 8 inches tall!

“Sorry!” Jose said. “Let’s try one more.” This time he was holding a small jar with a tiny bit of a fire red liquid. Before he poured it on someone we managed to stop him.  We decided to get out of the house before Jose caused anymore trouble and before getting caught by that man.  As we walked back Samrina said,

“Weren’t we supposed to find Mr. Spake?”

 ‘Oops,” I said. “Totally forgot!”

Then we started to search the whole house. In the end we found him tied up in the attic. We also found a basket of pears in the kitchen. We brought Mr. Spake and the basket of pears back to the school.  Everyone got back to the classroom and took a bite of the pear. Then everyone turned back to human beings. Finally we all headed back home.

The next day I came to school happy that everything was back to normal, but when I stepped into the class room and everything was the completely opposite of normal. My classmates were all human but they were acting like animals. Great, another problem coming my way. Maybe it was the pears that caused the problem. I thought.

THE END

Sorry if it is too short it is going to be a picture book. Btw this is only book 1

Leave a Reply

