V.E.R.E. Strikes (Part Two)

That night, I thought about that note. Then, suddenly, I had an idea. I crept out of bed and checked the time. It was 10:34. Okay, I thought. It’s not too late. I went to Nickel’s house. Down Neon Road, Nitrogen Avenue, and Carbon Boulevard. When I got there, I had to ring the doorbell about ten times before Nickel answered it. I told him, “I need to see that note right now!” I came into his house. Nickel returned with the note in his hand, an eager expression on his face. I took out my pen and pad and wrote the alphabet backwards and again this time forward. I translated “Ijyyuib lu yzmp zg nrwmrtsg li szmw jevi $1,000,000 glmrtsg!” into “Robbery of bank at midnight or hand over $1,000,000 tonight!” Nickel read it too. I asked him, “What time is it?”

He answered “Ahhhhhhhhhh! It’s already 11:30!”

“Nickel, calm down!” I hastily said. “We have to hurry if we want to catch the thief in the act!”

 “Okay,” said Nickel. “Let’s go!”

At the bank, we were prepared. We each had a special satellite cell phone. If either of them sensed a robber, it would vibrate soundlessly and we could feel it. The other cell phone would also vibrate, only harder. We each had a backpack with tons of things we might need. We both dressed in black, color-change suits. My good friend Iron, who is an inventor, lent us these things. We waited for what seemed like an hour, though really five minutes, both of us positioned at different places. Finally, my phone started vibrating. Yes, I thought. He’s here. Or she. I waited, holding my breath. I saw a group of people walking towards me. It looked like, but no it couldn’t have been, yes it was, it looked like the group of Very Evil Radioactive Elements a.k.a. V.E.R.E. was here. The whole group! They were most of the radioactive elements. I couldn’t figure out who they were specifically though. They were arguing about whom to send in to rob the bank. I tried to hear what they were saying, but I just caught a few sentences.

“We can’t send in Nobelium.”

“Why not send in Californium?”

“Send in Rutherfordium.”

“He can’t be quiet.”

“Just let him go.”

“No! She can go.”

“No put Lawrencium in.”

I waited for them to stop arguing and finally they said “Okay, you go.” I couldn’t tell who they sent. Next thing I knew, they opened the door with a lock pick and whoever they sent went in. I had only one thought in my head. I slipped in too.

4 responses to “V.E.R.E. Strikes (Part Two)

  1. Part 3 is the ending.

  2. SOOOO…… AWESome. PART 3 MUST COME SOON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I don’t know but I think there are like 20 or 30.

  4. Aha! “Very Evil Radioactive Elements a.k.a. V.E.R.E. ” Cool!
    How many elements in the periodic table are actually radioactive?

Leave a Reply

