Did you know – The State of Kansas turns 150 years old on Jan. 29, 2011

According to an article at http://cjonline.com/life/2011-01-02/kansas_to_celebrate_150_years

On Jan. 29, 1861, Kansas entered the union as the 34th state.

A special exhibits gallery in the Kansas Museum of History (6425 SW 6th St. Topeka, KS), the “150 Things I Love About Kansas” will be on display for 11 months starting Jan. 28.

What do YOU like about Kansas :)?

7 responses to “Did you know – The State of Kansas turns 150 years old on Jan. 29, 2011

  1. I do love Kansas, but maybe only for some trivia reasons that some people might make fun of. The truth is, I’ve only lived in the State of Kansas ever since I came here. I don’t really have any comparisons. Kansas is home to me and my family here.

  2. Kansas is the state I live the longest. Kansans are friendly, warmhearted and willing to help. Everywhere I go, I meet nice people in stores, libraries and neighborhood. Even on the roads, most drivers are well-mannered and follow the traffic rules. It is not densely populated, so I don’t have to worry to bump into someone on the street like in the other part of the world. I still remember one of friends who just got into Kansas and was lost on the street. She had to walk to someone’s house to ask for direction because it was empty on the street!

  3. I love Kansas because…
    1 Very few natural diasaters
    2 Not too cold or hot
    3 It has everything I need: city, suburban, farm, movie theaters, ice cream shops, playgrounds, parks, snow, sunshines, cows, horses, etc.
    4 It is not too big and not too small.
    5 uhh… Just BECAUSE!!!

  4. The funny thing about this is that January 29th is my mom’s birthday.

Leave a Reply

