The Storm in a Friendship Part 2

“Guess what I got for you?” My mother had asked.

“What?” I wasn’t very excited. When my mother had a ‘guess what?’ it was often a pair of socks. But I was surprised when my eyes landed on the puppy in her arms. It was so small, and I had barely noticed it at first. My mouth dropped open.

“No way.” I was stunned. My spirits lifted and my mind was cleared of all worries; a happiness lifting in my chest. I didn’t believe that my surprise was actually something I wanted. I had longed for a puppy ever since my fifth birthday, 7 years ago. I ran up the stairs and stroked the puppy. Its shining eyes peered into mine. I smiled. Everything was great. I had just received my report card, straight A’s in every subject. I had gotten the coolest pen that I had ever seen from my best friend. And now I was the owner of an adorable puppy. I should’ve know that I got the puppy for a reason.

We moved half a year ago. I had received the news right after the puppy.

6 responses to “The Storm in a Friendship Part 2

  1. You’ve got me sucked in! I wanto read more!
    On ” I didn’t believe ” maybe it should be “couldn’t”?

    • Because it’s past tense, it has to be “didn’t” instead of “couldn’t”. I guess both would work, but didn’t sounds somewhat better than couldn’t.

  2. 2. I don’t think it matters, but I could be wrong.
    3. Yes, sorry about that :)
    And..I guess you’ll have to see :)

  3. Thanks for commenting! :) Sorry, I think there are a few typos in there. :) To answer your questions..
    1. I’m not exactly sure. I wanted it to be clear that this part was in the past, so I said “had asked”, but it could also work as “asked” because it’s already past tense. I think you are right. I’ll change that when I have time. Thanks! :)

  4. What a nice surprise! I bet everyone else (kids with no pets but want one) would have loved this surprise!
    I do have a few questions:
    1. “My mother had asked”. Should it be “My mother asked” instead?
    2. Should “shining eyes” be “shiny eyes”? or they are equivalent?
    3. “should’ve know” should be “should’ve known”, right?

    Will the puppy get lost in a rainy day? (Not that I hope this to happen, but to guess the reason Raine hate rain ….”

  5. I really want to know what happenes next. You should post the rest of this story!

Leave a Reply

